Guidelines for Ordering Birth & Death Certificates
Because of the increased occurrence of identity theft, new laws have been passed to protect birth and death records from misuse. These laws became effective July 1, 2003. At that time, the steps necessary to obtain a birth or death record changed significantly. See the Birth or Death Application pages for specific details, located on the left, under "Access to Vital Records."
A burial permit must be accompanied by a death certificate and should correspond with that informaion. The cost of a burial permit is $12.
If the disposition of human remains is moving from one location to another, then the permit must be re-filed to reflect the new location. All re-files must have a paper trail. Burial Permits are numbered and kept in the Vital Records office for 2 years. Funeral Homes/Mortuaries keep their copy too.
Fees for Vital Records
See Vital Records Fees on the left blue sidebar.
We accept cash, check, and credit cards (VISA / MasterCard / Discover) for payment. There is an additional $1.95 processing fee for using a credit card.
Make checks payable to Nevada County Vital Records.
If mailing, send application and payment to:
Nevada County Vital Records
500 Crown Point Circle, Ste. 110
Grass Valley, CA 95945